Back to the top

“12GB of Christmas” Press Info

For more information, contact rob at robbyduguay dot com.

Album Title: Robby Duguay’s 12GB of Christmas
Genre: Video Game Christmas Music (retro/electronic/holiday)
Release date: December 6th, 2013
Available on: Bandcamp
Twitter Hashtag: #12GBofChristmas

Your classic video game memories reimagined as Christmas Carols. Some of our generation’s fondest memories of Christmas morning are associated with the soundtracks of our favourite classic games. If you ever went outside only to pretend you were still in Ice Land, or marching through snowy mountains on a mech, this album was created with you in mind. Experience a journey through time, with songs in the style of console games ranging from 1985-1999. This album also revives some traditional Christmas Carols we rarely hear anymore, like “O Come O Come Emmanuel,” and “It Came Upon a Midnight Clear.”

The Story:
“The 12GB of Christmas was created entirely within the 2 weeks leading up to its release. With the Bit Bazaar Winter Market planning in full swing, I saw all the great things people were preparing for their tables and I wanted to contribute also. It’s well known in our community that I love Christmas, and I am a composer for games – so I thought it would be nice to mix those two things. I put together a couple quick demos of Angels we Have Heard in Town and MegaChild, and thought it was worth it to try and make the whole album. I was determined to write 10 tracks, hoped to finish 12, and somehow settled in nicely with 11 tracks in the end.”

Track listing:
01. MegaChild (02:08) What Child is This
02. Angels we Have Heard in Town (03:11) Angels we Have Heard on High
03. I Saw 8 Bits (00:52) I Saw Three Ships
04. Hark the Herald Angels Train (02:28) Hark the Herald Angels Sing
05. Deck the Zones (02:29) Deck the Halls
06. Emmanuel’s City (02:40) O Come, O Come Emmanuel
07. God Rest ye Cool Gentlemen (02:20) God Rest ye Merry Gentlemen
08. Jingle Coins, Jingle Stars (02:51) Jingle Bells
09. It Came Upon a Time so Clear (01:47) It Came Upon a Midnight Clear
10. You can Hear the Cry of the Bells (01:32) Ukranian folk song
11. Cross Hills all ye Faithful (03:20) O Come All ye Faithful

Click Here for Volume 2

Click Here for Volume 3

Promotional Video:

Images: (Click to preview, Right-Click to Save As)

Album Art
Full-size Image





What people are saying:

Great track off of @RobbyDuguay new xmas album http://t.co/NbEPGQPpgF

— Jim Guthrie (@jampants) December 11, 2013


@RobbyDuguay created a Xmas album, you will actually want to listen to! I Saw 8Bits is our favorite! http://t.co/96B2sPO0O6

— Indie Game Audio (@indiegameaudio) December 11, 2013


@RobbyDuguay 12 GB of Christmas is going into my family’s Christmas music playlist. So awesome! Thanks for making this!

— MEGASHAUN (@megashaun) December 9, 2013


Instead of getting work done, I’m chair-dancing to @RobbyDuguay‘s 12 GB of Christmas album. http://t.co/96pqC75Lyj Love track 8! (ノ ^∀^)ノ

— Next eGEN’s RSMRY (@NextEstrogen) December 9, 2013


Morning after @TheBitBazaar highlight: my son dancing up a storm to “Deck the Zones” by @RobbyDuguay!

— Jonathan Guberman (@JGuberman) December 8, 2013


Robby Duguay